Baguettes and the Elephant

Tuesday evening I looked at a crate of 6 peaches and decided I would make bread. Six loaves of epi baguettes, to be precise.

My family has never been lost for words when it comes to my epi baguettes – “I smell bread!” “What do you mean you’re giving those away?” “Are there any more?” “How much longer?” “I can’t believe you let me eat all of that!” In five words or less, they like my bread.

I typically use King Arthur’s Organic Bread Flour, and it turns out a beautiful baguette. When a visiting family member expressed interest in whole wheat baguettes, I thought I’d try my hand at it. Fail. Big time. The whole wheat baguettes turned out much denser and heavier than those with regular bread flour, and nobody wants a dense or heavy baguette. I tried a bit of experimentation on Tuesday with a different type of wheat flour and rising time, but you can slap another “Baguette Fail” sticker on those as well. The standard epi baguettes, however, are shown here in all their golden glory.

I’d be lying if I didn’t say I beam with pride every single time I take these babies out of the oven. What do I serve them with? Anything. Everything. Nothing.

Oh, but why stop there? Anyone who’s seen me in a kitchen knows I’m an incredible multi-tasker, which is to say, I multitask in excess. Why stop at making dinner when I can make dinner, bake bread and put up some pear butter? Once I discover a new idea or recipe I like, it’s hard to get it out of my head until I’ve tried it in the kitchen.

Which is how I found myself etching. I’ve been sharing so many jars of jam lately, I thought it would be nice to find a way to personalize my products. Here is what I came up with.

It’s a bit rough, but for my first go, I really like it! And the process was surprisingly basic and easy. I can’t wait to try this on some tumblers!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

