National Cheese Month

I love cheese. I love cheese in the most hedonistic way possible. My favorite cheese rule is, there’s no such thing as too much cheese. I enjoy finding ways to incorporate cheese into all-time favorites (fried eggs, meet grated Parmesan cheese).  Family trips to Whole Foods usually involve my mother and aunt running around collecting necessities while I take my four-year-old cousin Layla by the hand into the cheese department. We’re kindred spirits like that.

This is why I was gobsmacked to discover that National Cheese Month is nearly over, and I had no idea it had even begun. This justified a somewhat spur of the moment detour to Fiore’s in Hoboken, NJ, known for their homemade mozzarella. They make their mozzarella daily, and whatever curds remain are sold in the morning to whoever asks. If I lived in Hoboken, I could see myself there early Saturday mornings, pleading for leftover mozzarella curds. Contrary to popular belief, rennet and citric acid aren’t the grocery store aisle items they once were.

Since I had skipped lunch that day (idiocy happens), I treated myself to Fiore’s famous cold roast beef and mozzarella sandwich.  Although traditionally served with gravy, I opted to replace that with some hot peppers. I fully admit to possessing the ability to make a complete mess of myself.

The sandwich was everything I hoped it would be, especially filling – there’s no hoping for me to focus if I’m hungry. While one can definitely tell there’s some cheesy magical goodness going on, I say let the cheese be the star of this outfit. Mozzarella that fresh deserves to shine with simplicity – a drizzle of olive oil and maybe a sprinkle of salt and pepper. It really is just that good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

