to my valentine, with love

As many of you may recall, I asked the New Amsterdam Market to be my valentine this year. Unlike my four-year-old cousin, it was more than happy to do so.

Tinsel Trading - Homemade ornaments, crafts & gifts

This special holiday market didn’t come near the largess that is New Amsterdam Market, but I didn’t particularly mind. Instead of making a beeline to my favorites (that’s right, Orwasher’s, I’m talking to you), I moseyed around the room, indulging in nibbles as I went.

And by “indulging in nibbles”, I mean I marched up to Liddabit Sweets, pointed to a small, decorated box  and said, Ooh what’s in there? This was followed by the lovely saleslady offering me a sample and me greedily shoving them in my mouth. I am unashamed by my love of caramels. Liddabit offers a wide array of treats, but their fig and ricotta caramels are my favorite.

I hovered around the Pie Corps table for a while, mostly because there were so many options to choose from.

I love a good pie – pumpkin pie, pecan pie, chicken pot pie…and a good chicken pot pie is hard to come by, although Citarella does a pretty stellar job. Aas you can imagine, I went a little crazy here. I walked away with a chicken pot pie, smore pie , brandied pumpkin with burnt caramel pie (pumpkin AND caramel? Oh, New Amsterdam Market, you really do love me), and two handpies – mushroom Stilton and garlicky greens with feta (the greens were a Swiss chard). This story, however, does not come complete with fairy tale ending. The chicken still had its skin. The brandied pumpkin was a bit too brandied. These are all matters of opinion, of course, but as it’s my blog, it’s my opinion you’re stuck with.

I never got around to the garlicky greens, but the smore pie was every bit as decadent as it sounds and the mushroom Stilton was the perfect Saturday market snack.

There were a few other familiar faces, like The Bent Spoon. They must have been thinking of me when they packed pints of raspberry chunk, a raspberry ice cream with chunks of dark chocolate. Anarchy in a Jar was also there, but I can’t tell you what I bought.

It’s a surprise for a kindred jammer.

Next door, Bowne & Co. was selling letter-press valentines and other paper goods. This print shop has been operating since 1975, but it uses a 19th century press. The shop is one part quaint and one part chaotic. If you are a fan of stationary (as I am not embarrassed to say I am), I highly recommend you stop by. Proprietor Robert Warner is a lovely host.

Bowne & Co. Stationers is located at 211 Water Street.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to to my valentine, with love

  1. Anonymous says:

    Viva Bent Spoon!

  2. Anonymous says:

    gasp! i wasn’t signed in. but I am sure you knew who that was from.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Drat. forget it.

Leave a Reply

