listening to: rick stotijn

What follows is completely unsolicited and unabashedly biased.

Everything I know about the bass (as a musical instrument and not something to be served at dinner) can be summed up in four simple syllables.

I’ll even go so far as to confess that I thought the double bass was nothing more than an oversized cello. Sleep peacefully with the knowledge that I now know better, thanks to my friend, the wonderfully talented Rick Stotijn.

Rick recently debuted his first album titled Capriccio di Bravura (Bottesini), accompanied by a handful of artists, including the Amsterdam Sinfonietta and his sister Christianne Stotijn, who has a voice that will make you sit down and shut the fuck up. I’ve learned a lot about classical music and its culture and history from him (my apologies to every piano teacher I ever had, I really was an idiot back then), and for that, I am incredibly grateful. Classical music goes deeper than the perceived long-winded performances in stuffy concert halls where you’re the only one with your real teeth. There’s a deep, rich history, built on emotion and creating emotion. It has the power to make you smile, make you hold your breath and even make you cry, if you’re that sort of person. Which I, ahem, am so not.

I am incredibly proud of Rick and all the hard work and dedication that went into the creation of Capriccio di Bravura. I demand encourage you to take a few minutes and sample some of the pieces on Rick’s album by clicking here or on the picture below. Thank me later.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

