sunday breakfast

Boys and girls, it’s been a while since my last Sunday breakfast at home. At home-home. Two weeks may seem like nothing, but even I come to miss the comforts of my own kitchen, of knowing which knife cuts what, which pan is where and what I can squeeze out of the work space and onto the table.

This Sunday, it was pancakes. There’s something about pancakes that says home to me.

20120708-214931.jpg

These guys, however, are completely vegan. No milk or eggs in the batter and grapeseed oil, not butter, in the pan. I used maple sugar brought home from a trip to Montreal. I would like to find a way to tweak this recipe, though. I loved how thin they came out, but I think maybe a hotter pan would get a better crisp around the edges.

On my Saturday in Berlin, I stumbled upon a market in Prenzauler Berg, a neighborhood that had me falling in love with the city. More on that later. After a bit of perusing, I stopped by a table selling jam. I’m a sucker for homemade jam, especially after spending a great deal of last summer peaking into large pots of simmering fruit. The duo at this stall were very friendly in translating their German labels for me, although I would have been very happy to simply settle for one jar of yum and two of ooh, that’s really good.

In this case, the yum is a jar of gooseberry and lemon mint jam. Gooseberries are very much in season in Germany, selling at corner groceries in their small baskets, wrapped in their papery calices. I had a handful at lunch my first afternoon in Berlin. I’d like to have a handful at breakfast tomorrow morning.

I hope you all had a lovely, and cool, Sunday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to sunday breakfast

  1. Pingback: berlin (saturday 30/6) | Notes from the Kitchen Sink

Leave a Reply

