happy friday!

I’m going to let you in on a little family joke.

When I was visiting Egypt six years ago with my family, we went to an upscale restaurant in Cairo. As we were flipping through the menu, you could hear the giggling when we saw common translation-related spelling mistakes like “chicken culet” and “bigeon sanwech.”

But the one that we loved most was “sepical whiskey”. We love it so much, the term has become part of our vernacular. Whenever I’m having a, ahem, moment, Paula will smile sweetly and ask, “Are we being sepical today?” It doesn’t happen often, really.

Moving along.

When I stepped into the shower in my room at El Gran Marques in Trujillo, I was excited to wash away all signs of travel. I turned the knobs and waited. Too cold. Turn again. Still too cold. Turn again. Why is this water freezing!? I scratched my head, stared at the knobs for a minute and thought-

Am I having a sepical moment?

Blue means cold and red means hot, right? WRONG. Well, wrong if you’re in room 214 at El Gran Marques. No, here the blue is hot and the red is cold. Don’t ask me to explain why, I haven’t got the slightest idea. I do know it took a while to figure out, and I do know a certain someone who took two cold showers because of this mislabeling.

And no, it wasn’t me. Turns out I’m not the only sepical one in this family.

Have a happy Friday, friends. Lets hope for a bit of sun this weekend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

