sunday breakfast

Okay, so there’s good new and bad news.

Let’s start with the bad. Sorry. Not really.

I wish there was a delicate, socially acceptable or at least somewhat witty way of putting this, but as my attempts to channel some balance of Anthony Bourdain and Mama Oprah are failing me, I will have to settle for this – I have tonsillitis. I get it, and apparently often. Oh, and apparently at the most inconvenient times. Like 3 weeks ago, pre-trip to San Diego. Or how about a few years back, pre-trip to Ireland for a wedding.

Tonsillectomy is the word du jour – du weekend, really.

Oftentimes, I catch the sneaky bugger and after a day of rest and FDA unapproved meds (Mom’s chicken soup 4eva), I’m back on my feet. On the rare occasion where I don’t have the luxury of time off, or I’m just not watching my back (as was the case this time), I get treated to America’s favorite generic antibiotic. The thing is, I know and you know it’s not good to be consistently bombarding your body with antibiotics. Trust me, I’m a pharmacist.

No I’m not.

Okay, back to Sunday breakfast.

In the course of self-medication and heavy doses of TLC (the family kind, not the one that thinks showing Honey Boo Boo to the world is appropriate), I knew I’d have to endure one of the worst home treatments known to childlike-adults worldwide.

The saltwater gargle. If you think the Hello Kitty spoon or cute little girl in a yellow raincoat helped any, you’re mistaken. I don’t even know if there was any direct health effect, but I suppose it had to be done.

And then I treated myself to a little piece of toast with avocado, its desolate final moments memorialized here.

The good news, however, is that I couldn’t bear to leave you with such a sad, pathetic Sunday breakfast – so I’m bringing you last Sunday’s breakfast.

Now this was a real treat – something a person with well-behaved tonsils could happily stomach. Here we have toast, melted Havarti, a roast tomato and, of course, a fried egg. Want to make those roast tomatoes? I got your recipe right here.

I hope you all enjoyed your weekends, whether it was in the great outdoors, roaming the streets of your favorite city, or attached to the couch.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

