forty minute dance party

Music is an amazing thing. It has a way of communicating directly with its listeners, whether it says, You are now indulging in a guilty pleasure or You must be feeling like a total badass or Let’s cry together or, and this is my personal favorite, Get off your ass and dance!

And that’s exactly what I did last night, mes cheries. I had a Get off your ass and dance! party, occupants, YO. Just me, with my headphones and obnoxiously bright shorts bopping around the family room like a fool. Except, I’d like to think Mr. T wouldn’t pity me – he’d be proud.

I’ve been using Songza lately to discover new music and while it occasionally throws out a tune I have no interest in, I like the app’s concept and it really nailed last night’s mood.

Here are the highlights for your listening pleasure (aka – click the pic for a jump to some old school YouTube jams) –

20130128-220405.jpg

This was how the night’s festivities kicked off. This was how I knew I was in for a good forty minutes of jumping around. This was how I knew it’s time for a new sports bra.

20130128-220337.jpg

I know I’ve heard this before, but regardless – this is a song that warrants a lot of hip thrusting. Go on, get up. Hand gestures required. Just be aware of how loud your gutteral “UHS” come out – mine brought a motherly figure (sometimes known as my mother) running to make sure I hadn’t killed myself. (This photo doesn’t link to what Songza gave me exactly, but the classic version of Edwin Starr’s hit is phenomenal without being remixed)

20130128-220319.jpg

Hey, this song may not be for everyone and their mothers, fathers, dogs (because you’re all crazy, I take it), but I cannot get enough. I want to learn all the dance moves. I really want Songza to play it again today. And I want to know how many codpieces Larry Blackmon owns and in what other colors.

Have a rockin’ Tuesday, friends. Get up and dance a little.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

